Gregg Township Centre County, Pennsylvania

Jan 2016




January 11, 2016

The organization meeting for the Planning Commission of Gregg Township was held on Monday, January 11, 2016 at the Old Gregg School Community and Recreation Center, Room #106 with the following members present: Chairman Chris Kunes, Bill Seay, Mike Arthur, Doug Bierly, Keri Miller, Don Myers.  Others in attendance: Secretary Jennifer Snyder, Joel Myers, Zoning Officer Mike Lesniak

 The meeting was called to order at 7:06 p.m. followed by the group reciting the pledge of allegiance.

 Mr. Bierly was nominated as temporary Chairman.  As temporary chairman, Mr. Bierly opened the floor for nominations for Chairman of the Planning Commission for 2016. Mr. Arthur made a motion to nominate Chris Kunes as Planning Commission Chairman. Second by Mr. Seay. No further discussion. Vote in favor was unanimous. 5 – 0

Mr. Kunes took over the chairmanship of the meeting from this point. Chairman Kunes called for nominations for Vice-Chairman. Mr. Bierly made a motion to nominate Mr. Arthur as Vice-Chairman. Second by Seay. No further discussion. Vote in favor was unanimous. 5 – 0

Chairman Kunes called for nomination for Secretary of the Planning Commission. Mr. Bierly made a motion to nominate Jennifer Snyder as the Secretary for the Planning Commission. Second by Mr. Arthur. No further discussion. Vote in favor was unanimous. 5 – 0

Chairman Kunes closed the organization meeting and opened the regular Planning Commission meeting.

CITIZEN COMMENTS NOT ON THE AGENDA:  No comments at this time.


Board of Supervisors Report:  The December 10, 2015 and the January 4, 2016 Board of Supervisors meeting minutes were discussed.  Mr. Bierly mentioned that Mr. Arthur and Ms. Miller were re-appointed to the planning commission for another 4 year term.  The Penns Valley Regional Planning Commission will meet on Monday, January 18, 2016.  A discussion of a letter from the Department of Environmental Protection for the minor land development plan for Jonas and Lydia Beiler took place. It was also mentioned that the contract was signed for the conversion of our township street lights to LED lights. The Board of Supervisors passed a resolution to change the street light tax to $25 for developed parcels and $10 for undeveloped parcels which border roads within the village.

Zoning Officers Report:  Mr. Lesniak gave his monthly report.  The PVCEA will continue to do services for Huston, Worth and Unionville Borough as well as the municipalities in Penns Valley. Mr. Lesniak will write a letter to Mr. Auman about cleaning up his property.

Mr. Don Myers arrived at 7:30 p.m.


Approval of Meeting Minutes:  Ms. Miller made a motion to approve the December 7, 2015 Planning Commission meeting minutes.  Second by Mr. Arthur. No further discussion. Vote in favor was unanimous. 6 – 0

Food Centres Project: Ms. Miller reported that the Old Gregg School Advisory Board approved moving forward with the Food Centres project and formed a subcommittee to be the liaison to the Food Centres group. This project will be zoned as a farmers market for required setbacks. 



Chairman Kunes discussed the correspondence on the agenda. A discussion about the letter received from DEP concerning the Jonas and Lydia Beiler subdivision took place.  There was some question as to why this letter mentions an exemption to the requirements. Ms. Snyder will contact Anson Burwell at the county office to see if he is familiar with the letter.  All other correspondence was discussed and reviewed. 



  • William and Marilyn McLaughlin & JCCK, LP Lot addition  and Replot Proposal
  • Lawrence Morar Water Obstruction and Encroachment Permit Issuance
  • Jonas & Lydia Beiler Minor Land Development



Ms. Snyder received word from Keystate Publishing that they will respond to our email by the end of the week, January 15, 2016. 



Mr. Bierly made a motion to adjourn 7:45 p.m. Second by Mr. Arthur. Meeting adjourned.  


Respectfully Submitted By,





Jennifer Snyder, CGA


Gregg Township, Centre County


You are here: Home Planning Commission Meeting Minutes 2016 Jan 2016

Office Hours

8:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Monday - Friday

The Supervisors

  • Joel Myers, Chairman: 574-1319
  • Douglas Bierly, Vice-Chairman: 360-1822
  • Charles Stover, Supervisor: 571-7298

Contact Information

Gregg Township Office

106 School Street
PO Box 184
Spring Mills PA  16875

Phone: (814) 422 - 8218 Fax: (814) 422-8080

Gregg Township Shed

147 Water Street

Spring Mills PA 16875

Phone: (814) 571-2096